Our First Night Without Avery – Part 1

Okay, not the whole night, we just won’t be there to bathe her and put her to sleep. We hardly went out before Avery was born because we detest most restaurants and can’t stand to pay a lot for most things we can enjoy at home. I could go on, but that’s another post. Luckily, my mom, Avery’s “G-ma”, is staying the night to take over. Good luck, mom!

Happy to be with G-ma!
Happy to be with G-ma!

Since day one, Kelley and I have worked together each night to figure out how we’ll get Avery to sleep. Currently, getting her to sleep in her crib has been going pretty well and it will be weird not doing the routine tonight. Notice I said “weird”, but not hard; the freedom will be great! Of course we’ll miss our dear daughter, but mom and dad need time together too.

We are going to see the Imagine Dragons in concert at the American Airlines Center in Dallas. The Imagine Dragons are a band we came to know and love while trying to get pregnant with Avery. This was a long, hard path and we are ever so grateful to have her healthy and in our lives now.

When we weren’t visiting doctors and going through tests, we’d be at home listening to Pandora Radio and putting together puzzles. This was a great bonding time for Kelley and me, and we’ll never forget it. Pandora played a lot of music that is now mainstream on the radio, including Imagine Dragons. This band won us over as fans and we are more than ecstatic to see them live!

We showed G-ma our nightly routine of bath time, coconut oil on skin, swaddling, and feeding last night since she stayed over then. We’ll probably go over it again before leaving for the concert, just to be the anal parents we are.

Holding Avery at around 5 weeks
Holding Avery at around 5 weeks

I’m so glad my mom is able and willing to watch Avery tonight, and hopefully we come home to quiet home. I can’t blame her if she is fearfully holding Avery close because the crib wasn’t working out though; I do this every now and then too. What is it with these babies anyway? Oh yeah, they’re babies.

Quick story I want to share….

Yesterday I went for a walk with Avery and Abby (our Golden) in the high winds but nice temperature. As we were walking along a home construction area, Abby decided she had to poop. I pulled on her leash to try and stop her, but it was too late, and the stupid collar fell off. Usually Abby is good and will stay, but she decided to run off so I had to yell at her to come back. This woke Avery from her nap and she started crying, plus when I stepped to get Abby I went right in her poop. Awesome. :/

After gathering myself, the dog (as she’ll be referred to now), wiping my shoe, and calming Avery back to her nap, we ended up having a nice hour long walk.

Sleeping in the Ergo at our turnaround point
Sleeping in the Ergo at our turnaround point

Thanks for sticking with me if you made it this far, I just wanted to remember that awesome walk by blogging about it.

As the title says, this is part 1 of our first night out, I’ll have a follow up post (part 2, duh) to recapture how the night went for us as well as G-ma.

What was your first night out like and how old was your baby at that time?
Did you come back home or stay somewhere else for the night?
Who babysat?
Am I asking too many questions?

8 thoughts on “Our First Night Without Avery – Part 1”

  1. We went out for our first wedding anniversary when megs was 8 weeks old. We went to the Trafford centre for a meal in the Spanish restaurant. It was really odd, but lovely too. Megan stayed with my sister, brother in law and my nephew who was 11 months old. She was great, slept well and we picked her up on the way home…..

    Funny, we are in the process of planning a whole night and two days away for our 10 wedding anniversary this year…..time flies……x

    1. Wow, sounds like things went well even for 8 weeks. I think we would’ve been too terrified at that point….maybe not.

      Time certainly does fly. Looking at our collection of pictures and seeing how much she’s changed is humbling. Now that I am a parent, thinking into the future can almost be scary now; we’re getting old!

  2. Really enjoyed reading this. Our son’s just over ten months old and we haven’t yet been on a night out without him, partly because we live several hundred miles away from either set of parents. That said, we were able to go on an afternoon out together to see Anchorman 2 back in December. My wife’s parents looked after our son as we were staying with them. It’s the only time we’ve gone on a trip out without our son. I’m sure it’s the sort of thing we’ll do a bit more as he gets older.

    1. Glad you enjoyed, Jonathan, and thanks for reading! I’m very thankful we live close enough to both sets of parents and that they’re willing to watch Avery. We’ll make sure not to take advantage though.

      I can see as our kids ages, it will be easier to getaway for the night. Hope it works out for you two soon, it helps give a mental and physical break!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.